Moscato Cupcakes

Hello! I know, I’ve been MIA for a long time. It’s been a crazy last month and I have had zero time to bake. This past weekend I got back in the kitchen and it felt great! Since we are in the middle of summer, I decided to make a light cupcake that would go perfectly with the warm weather. I found the perfect thing. Moscato cupcakes! I’m not a drinker, but I do love some Barefoot Moscato. It’s such a light and fruity wine and making it into a delicious dessert. I did follow the recipe exactly, but would change the frosting. (See notes below).image (4)

So first you need to gather your ingredients for the cupcakes. You will need:
2 and 1/2 cups of flour
1 tsp. baking soda
3/4 tsp. salt
1 and 1/4 cups of sugar
1 cup of canola or vegetable oil
1/3 cup of Moscato
3/4 cup of buttermilk
2 large eggs
1 tsp. white vinegar

image (3)

In the electric mixer bowl I combined the flour, baking soda, salt and sugar. Whisk them together.
image (2)

In a separate (and smaller) bowl, combine the oil, Moscato, buttermilk, eggs, and vinegar.
image (5)

Slowly pour the wet ingredients into dry and mix until it is just blended.
image (9)

Scoop the batter into prepared cupcake pan, filling each about 3/4 full.
image (10)

Bake for 15-17 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the middle of a cupcake comes out clean. Cool completely on wire racks. When I made them, the recipe made about 18 cupcakes.
image (8)

Now for the Icing! You will need:
8 oz. butter, room temperature
3 Tbs. Moscato
1/2 tsp. vanilla extract
2 cups of powdered sugar

In a bowl cream the butter with an electric mixer until it is smooth and fluffy. Add in the Mascato and vanilla and continue mixing until combined. Add the powdered sugar 1/2 cup at a time until smooth and light. Frost the cooled cupcakes. I garnished with a sliced strawberry.
image (6)

image (7)

The cupcake was very light and fluffy, which is perfect for summertime. It was also a very easy cupcake to make and would be perfect for a summertime picnic.

NOTE:
For the icing I would use less butter and a tad more Moscato. I thought the icing tasted more like butter than vanilla and Moscato. Otherwise it was a great cupcake!

Please leave comments and questions below!

Leave a comment